Share to your facebook timeline to get $15 discount.

To secure the data on the old iPhone, you need to know how to wipe everything out. This guide is going to walk through deleting data from iPhone as well as restoring certain data like Contacts to the new iPhone 6.

How to delete data permanently from your old iPhone?
0 votes, 0.00 avg. rating (0% score)
Mother’s day is coming. Have you ever think about what kind of gift you would like to prepare for your Mother? How about a new iPhone, such as iPhone 6 or iPhone 6 Plus? To safeguard all the information on the old iPhone of your Mother, you need to help her to delete everything permanently and thoroughly before changing for the new model of iPhone.

The first thing you need to do is to back up everything necessary and important to iTunes, iCloud or simply to your PC.

If you don’t know how to back up with iTunes, iCloud or third party software, iFonebox, you can check our guide about how to back up your iPhone before upgrading your iPhone to a more current model.

Below are the steps for wiping everything out on your iPhone.

Remove photos from Camera Roll. Connect the device to your computer and open Image Capture (our recommendation, it's much faster) or iPhoto. Select all photos and then click Import All. In Image Capture, select "Delete items from camera after downloading." In iPhoto, choose to "delete photos" after importing.

Disable your iCloud account. Open the Settings app > iCloud > tap "Delete Account" to delete the account from the device.

Navigate to Settings> General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings" for a complete wipe of all personal data from the iPhone.

This will completely erase your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.
Note: Unless you are sure that you don’t want anything from your old iPhone, you should never try to manually delete contacts, photo streams, calendars, or reminders while logged into your iCloud account. This will also delete the content from the iCloud servers and your iCloud-connected devices (like your iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch).

Finally, call your carrier and ask them to disassociate the device from your account.

What should you do, you may wonder, if your Mother want Contacts only restored to the new iPhone 6 or iPhone 6 Plus, and other things like Notes, Reminders, Photos and Voice Memos previously on the old iPhone extracted and kept on the computer? As we all know, neither iTunes nor iCloud can realize so, as neither of them transfer part of the backup file. And saving all the data to iCloud does not interest you that much, as iCloud only provides 5GB free storage space.

So to achieve restoring the Contacts only to new iPhone as well as transferring other data to computer, you need third party software iFonebox which supports recovering Contacts and Notes directly to iPhone as well as extracting and transferring Reminders, Safari Bookmarks, Photos Messages, and Voice Memos etc to your computer.

You can download the free version to have a try.

The first thing you'll see when you start the new iPhone 6 will be a Setup Assistant, which walks you through the process of making your iPhone yours. That's where you'll indicate your preferred Wi-Fi network, enter or create your Apple ID, set up iCloud, and decide whether you want to activate Find My Phone or Location Services. If you are not sure, don’t worry, you can go back into Settings and adjust your choices whenever you want.

Follow the steps below to learn how to restore Contacts selectively to iPhone.

Step 1: Get iPhone 6 Plugged to computer, and run the full version of iFonebox, choose Recover from iTunes Backup.
Step 2: Choose Contacts to extract.
Step 3: Preview and transfer the extracted Contacts directly to iPhone 6 or iPhone 6 Plus.
How to delete data permanently from your old iPhone?
0 votes, 0.00 avg. rating (0% score)

Related Articles